Claims Examples

Banner Image 1
Banner Image 2
/content/dam/victor/encon/page-banner-3/pbanner3-webinars-3.jpg

Builders Risk

The following claims examples provide common scenarios where a claim may occur under a Builders Risk policy.

Note: These Claims Examples are for illustrative purposes only. Please remember that only the insurance policy governs the coverage terms, conditions and exclusions.

Sports Centre

A general contractor was hired to renovate and expand a sports centre. The driver of a boom truck damaged the steel cladding of the building while trying to remove temporary propane tanks from the project site. The truck had been rented from a company hired by the insured’s mechanical subcontractor.

School

Construction work was being carried out on a school during the summer months, when vandals broke into the school at night and started a fire causing damage in different areas of the insured project. Cleanup and repairs to the project needed to be completed prior to the school opening in the fall.

Cooling Coil

During the construction of an addition to an existing facility, a subcontractor unknowingly struck an exposed cooling coil which began to leak. A significant amount of water leaked into the facility and went undiscovered, as it was hidden in the cavities of the structure. Once the leak was discovered, there was physical evidence of impact damage to the coil.

Multi-unit Condominium

During construction of a new multi-unit condominium building, a water leak was discovered emanating from a copper water pipe connected to an exterior outlet in one of the units. The investigation revealed that the caulking around the balcony area had not been properly applied which allowed cold air to come into contact with the pipe and resulted in the line freezing and ultimately water damage to the project.

Condominium

A contractor was constructing a new 50-storey condominium building, which required the selective demolition of an existing building for incorporation into the insured project. Severe damage to the project occurred when water escaped from an unprotected domestic waterline which froze and ruptured in two unfinished suites.

Theft of Copper Wiring and Piping

Thieves managed to gain access to a secured project site for a medical treatment facility and stole a large quantity of copper wiring and piping. Some of the materials had already been installed by an electrical subcontractor working on the site. The thieves specifically targeted the copper-based products as they are a highly sought-after commodity for the high recycling value at recycling centres.

Bridge

During the installation of a new steel girder and concrete bridge, the steel girder assembly slipped off its supports, causing severe damage to the end sections of the steel beams. The cause of the loss was determined to have resulted from a poorly designed installation procedure. The damaged sections of the steel beams were removed and replaced with the aid of two large mobile cranes.

Hydroelectric Projects

An owner and general contractor planned to begin the construction of three hydroelectric projects. Torrential rains caused flooding and damage to cofferdams and power stations, which also caused a delay in the start-up of the project. A claim for over $12 million was made for the physical damage to the project, as well as the lost revenue from the inability to sell electricity for a period of time.

High-rise Building

The project involved the construction of a 31-storey, residential high-rise condominium with ground-level town homes. The construction of the high-rise building was one week away from final completion when a hot water line connection to a 17th floor dishwasher ruptured. Water escaped for approximately 14 hours before being turned off. Several thousand gallons of water were estimated to have escaped, which affected 55 units in the building, and damaged the building’s electrical, communications, fire detection and elevator systems.

Commercial Retail Building

A contractor was retained to act as a general contractor for a project involving the construction of a commercial retail building. The contractor stored the interior finishing materials for the project in his warehouse a few kilometres from the site of the project. A fire broke out in the warehouse, completely destroying its contents.

Exemples de réclamations

Banner Image 1
Banner Image 2
/content/dam/victor/encon/page-banner-3/pbanner3-webinars-3.jpg

Assurance chantier

Les exemples de réclamations suivants fournissent des scénarios fréquents où une réclamation pourrait se produire en vertu d’une police d’assurance chantier.

Remarque : Ces exemples de réclamations ne sont présentés qu’à titre indicatif. N’oubliez pas que seule la police d’assurance régit les modalités, les conditions et les exclusions de la couverture.

Centre sportif

Un entrepreneur général a été embauché afin de rénover et agrandir un centre sportif. Le conducteur du camion à flèche a endommagé le revêtement en acier de l’immeuble alors qu’il essayait d’enlever des réservoirs à propane temporaires du chantier. Le camion a été loué d’une compagnie par le sous-traitant en mécanique de l’assuré.

Incendie dans une école

Des travaux de construction étaient réalisés à une école pendant les mois d’été, lorsque des vandales se sont introduits la nuit dans l’école et ont allumé un incendie qui a causé des dommages dans différentes zones du projet assuré. Les travaux de nettoyage et les réparations au projet devaient être effectués et achevés avant l’ouverture de l’école à l’automne.

Serpentin de refroidissement

Pendant la construction d’une annexe à un établissement, un sous-traitant a frappé, sans s’en rendre compte, un serpentin de refroidissement exposé, lequel a commencé à fuir. La fuite d’eau dans l’établissement était importante et elle est passée inaperçue puisqu’elle était cachée dans les cavités de la structure. Lorsque la fuite a été découverte, on a trouvé des éléments de preuve substantielle démontrant que le serpentin avait subi des dommages causés par l’impact.

Immeuble d’appartements en copropriété

Pendant la construction d’un nouvel immeuble d’appartements en copropriété, on a découvert une fuite d’eau émanant d’une conduite d’eau en cuivre rattachée à un orifice de sortie extérieur d’un des appartements. L’enquête a révélé que le calfeutrage autour du balcon n’avait pas été appliqué correctement, permettant ainsi à l’air froid d’entrer en contact avec la conduite et de la faire geler, et à la fin des dégâts d’eau au projet.

Immeuble d’appartements en copropriété

Un entrepreneur construisait un nouvel immeuble d’appartements en copropriété de 50 étages. Ce projet nécessitait la démolition sélective d’un immeuble existant afin de l’incorporer au projet assuré. Des dommages importants au projet se sont produits lorsque de l’eau s’est mise à fuir d’une conduite d’eau domestique non-protégée qui a gelé et s’est rompue dans deux appartements non achevés.

Vol de fils de cuivre et de tuyaux en cuivre

Des voleurs ont réussi à s’introduire sur un site sécurisé pour un centre de traitement médical et ont volé une grande quantité de fils de cuivre et de tuyaux en cuivre. Certains morceaux du matériel avaient déjà été installés par un sous-traitant en électricité travaillant sur le chantier. Les voleurs ont ciblé spécialement les produits à base de cuivre, car ils sont très en demande entre voleurs en raison de leur valeur de recyclage élevée dans les centres de tri.

Pont

Au cours de l’installation d’une nouvelle poutre d’acier et d’un nouveau pont en béton, l’assemblage de la poutre d’acier a glissé de ses supports, causant des dommages considérables aux extrémités de la poutre. Il a été déterminé que le sinistre était attribuable à une mauvaise conception de la procédure d’installation. Les sections endommagées de la poutre d’acier ont été retirées et remplacées au moyen de deux grandes grues mobiles.

Projets hydro-électriques

Un propriétaire et un entrepreneur général prévoyaient commencer la construction de trois projets hydro-électriques. Des pluies torrentielles ont causé une inondation et endommagé les batardeaux et les centrales électriques, ainsi qu’entraîné un retard dans le commencement du projet. Une réclamation de plus de 12 millions de dollars a été présentée pour les dommages matériels, ainsi que pour la perte de revenus découlant de l’incapacité à vendre de l’électricité pendant un certain temps.

Tour d’appartements

Le projet impliquait la construction d’une tour d’appartements en copropriété de 31 étages assortie de maisons en rangée au niveau du sol. Il restait une semaine avant l’achèvement de la construction du tour lorsque le raccord d’une conduite d’eau chaude d’un lave-vaisselle du 17e étage s’est rompu. L’eau a coulé pendant environ 14 heures avant que l’alimentation en eau soit coupée. On estime que plusieurs milliers de gallons d’eau se sont déversés, ce qui a touché 55 appartements dans l’immeuble et endommagé le système électrique, de communications, de détection d’incendie et des ascenseurs.

Immeuble de commerce de détail

Un entrepreneur a été embauché à titre d’entrepreneur général dans le cadre d’un projet de construction d’un immeuble de commerce de détail. L’entrepreneur a entreposé les matériaux pour la finition intérieure du projet dans son entrepôt situé à quelques kilomètres du site du chantier. Un incendie s’est déclaré dans l’entrepôt et a complètement détruit son contenu.